Co-production agreements and national financial support

Co-production agreements

Portugal is part of 12 bilateral film co-production treaties – France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Mozambique, São Tomé and Príncipe, Morocco, India and Israel – and negotiations are also underway with China.

In addition, Portugal is an integral part of the European Convention on Cinematographic Co-production, Eurimages, Ibermedia and the Ibero-American Cinematographic Co-production Agreement, which allows for possible co-productions with more than 60 countries in Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas.

Click here for more information.


National financial support

ICA manages more than twenty types of financial support for national cinema and audiovisual projects, namely in development, production, distribution, exhibition, festivals, promotion, among others. Support for film production includes short films, documentaries, animation, portuguese minority co-productions and co-productions with portuguese-speaking countries.

To find out more about annual national support, please visit the ICA website.


Supranational financial support

Portugal participates in several supranational funds and programmes, such as the Creative Europe Programme (European Union), Eurimages Fund (Council of Europe) and the Ibermedia Fund (Iberian and Latin-American Countries Community). Portugal is also a member of the EFP – European Film Promotion, a structure created in 1997 with the goal to develop and strengthen the worldwide promotion and distribution of european cinema.

More information here and on each of these initiatives’ websites:

Creative Europe



EFP – European Film Promotion